A cleaner decade: Asia Pacific renewable energy reference manual

July 2010

pub_225x150_solar_panels

Contacts

Renewable energy has moved to the forefront of the political arena globally. Clean energy is now viewed as critical to the economic future of major economies.

President Obama has recently called for the USA to take the lead in the clean energy industry. In Australia we have seen a change in leadership which many commentators attribute directly to climate change and energy issues. The Australian government has left the door open for a change in the direction of its policies for the sector as it heads to the next election. Significantly for the Australian energy market, recent amendments to the Renewable Energy Target scheme are expected to create greater business certainty for investment in large-scale renewables projects.

Stability of the regulatory regime is a critical issue for investors in the sector. The global industry has become concerned with the threat of changes to support regimes which were previously viewed as stable, for example, the current debate in Spain on retroactive cuts to the solar feeding tariff regime. Asia Pacific countries must learn from other markets and put in place regulatory frameworks which stand the test of time , stimulate long term investment and foster local industries.

In order to view the full Asia Pacific Renewable reference manual please click on the link below:

Asia Pacific renewables reference manual 2010 (pdf 3 MB)

Contacts

Head of energy
Simon Currie
Partner
Norton Rose LLP
+44 (0)20 7444 3402
simon.currie@nortonrose.com

Bangkok

Somboon Kitiyansub
Partner
Norton Rose (Thailand) Limited
Tel +662 263 2811
somboon.kitiyansub@nortonrose.com

Beijing

Tom Luckock
Partner
Norton Rose LLP
Tel +86 10 8448 8881
tom.luckock@nortonrose.com

Jakarta

Ross Ramsay
Partner
Norton Rose Australia
Tel +62 21 5793 9903
ross.ramsay@nortonrose.com

Melbourne

James Morgan-Payler
Partner
Norton Rose Australia
Tel +61 3 8686 6503
james.morgan-payler@nortonrose.com

Singapore

Nick Merritt
Partner
Norton Rose (Asia) LLP
Tel +65 6309 5318
nick.merritt@nortonrose.com

Hannah Logan
Senior Associate
Norton Rose (Asia) LLP
Tel +65 6309 5331
hannah.logan@nortonrose.com

Sydney

Vincent Dwyer
Partner
Tel +61 2 9330 8238
vincent.dwyer@nortonrose.com

Tokyo

George Gibson
Partner
Norton Rose (Asia) LLP
Tel +813 5218 6823
george.gibson@nortonrose.com

James Morson
Associate
Norton Rose (Asia) LLP
Tel +813 5218 6825
james.morson@nortonrose.com

Vietnam

Geoff Sutherland
Foreign legal counsel
Norton Rose Australia
Tel +84 8 3823 6501
geoff.sutherland@nortonrose.com