A first look at the legal landscape for the healthcare and life sciences industries under President Trump

Webinar

December 1, 2016 | 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm CT | Webinar

Broad and sweeping changes to the current laws affecting US healthcare and life sciences companies are expected under President-elect Donald Trump's "100 Day Action Plan".

Specifically, Trump's 100 Day Action Plan called for the full repeal of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA) and its replacement with health savings accounts, cross-states sales of health insurance and modifications to state managed Medicaid programs. The Plan also advocated a more streamlined drug approval process. Within the first few days after the election, however, many observers have noted that the prospects for rapid enactment of radical change in the healthcare regulatory landscape are not so clear, and the President-elect has already suggested that some popular provisions of the ACA should be preserved.

Join Norton Rose Fulbright as we discuss some significant, potential changes to current laws and regulations and the impact such changes may have on the healthcare and life sciences industries under the Trump administration.

Topics of discussion:

  • Full or partial repeal and replacement of the Affordable Care Act (ACA)
  • Possible retrenchment in expansion of state Medicaid programs
  • Possible effect on hospital and physician Medicare payments based on quality rather than quantity
  • Potential impact on the pharmaceutical and medical device industries
  • Containing health care cost increases

Speakers

Thomas E. Dowdell

Thomas E. Dowdell

Partner, Norton Rose Fulbright US LLP

Frederick  Robinson

Frederick Robinson

Global Co-Head of Life Sciences and Healthcare, Norton Rose Fulbright US LLP

Agenda

10:00 am - 11:00 am PST
11:00 am - 12:00 pm MST 
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm CST 
1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EST 
6:00 pm - 7:00 pm GMT

Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest legal news, information and events... Register now