Norton Rose and Fulbright & Jaworski join forces

14 November 2012

Contacts

Leading legal practices combine to form Norton Rose Fulbright.

International legal practice Norton Rose today announced that it will combine with leading U.S. law firm Fulbright & Jaworski L.L.P. on June 3, 2013 to form Norton Rose Fulbright.

Norton Rose Fulbright will have 3,800 lawyers and will be a top 10 global legal practice by gross revenue and by number of lawyers. The enlarged practice will have 55 offices internationally, including 11 offices and close to 800 lawyers in the U.S., in Austin, Dallas, Denver, Houston, Los Angeles, Minneapolis, New York, Pittsburgh-Southpointe, San Antonio, St Louis and Washington D.C.

Norton Rose Fulbright will also have an office in Riyadh and additional strength in London, Dubai, Beijing, Hong Kong, and Munich.

The practice will have world class expertise in litigation and dispute resolution, corporate, intellectual property and banking and finance.

By industry sector, Norton Rose Fulbright will occupy a market leading position in the areas of energy; pharmaceuticals and life sciences (including healthcare); financial institutions; infrastructure, mining and commodities; technology and transport.

Norton Rose Fulbright will also establish a global regulatory and investigations practice.

Peter Martyr, Chief Executive, Norton Rose, commented:

“The U.S. legal market is the largest in the world and our combination will create a truly global practice with significant depth of expertise in the world’s principal business and financial centres.”

“We have been looking at the U.S. market for a number of years, seeking a firm that meets our requirements for excellence in law, good business synergies and a compatible culture. Fulbright & Jaworski meets all our criteria; it is financially strong, with forward-looking management and similar strategic growth aspirations.”

“As Norton Rose Fulbright, we will continue to invest in our strongest practice areas and develop our expertise across our key industry sectors. We also expect to continue extending our global business not only in the U.S., but in the emerging growth markets of the future, in particular in Latin America, Africa and Asia.”

Steven B. Pfeiffer, Chair of Fulbright & Jaworski’s Executive Committee, commented:

“Fulbright’s combination with Norton Rose will expand our global platform and enable us to provide an even broader range of services to our clients. We will be an international leader in providing seamless and superior client service.”

Kenneth L. Stewart, Chair-Elect of Fulbright & Jaworski’s Executive Committee, commented:

“This is a smart combination of two groups whose geographic presence, capabilities and client service cultures are strongly complementary. The combined organisation can provide the experience, insight and service our clients need everywhere they do business around the world.”

Peter Martyr will be the Global Chief Executive of Norton Rose Fulbright. The Chair-Elect of Fulbright, Ken Stewart, will serve as Managing Partner of the U.S. operations and will take a senior position on Norton Rose Fulbright’s Global Executive Committee. Other Fulbright partners will also sit on the Global Executive Committee. Norman Steinberg is the Global Chairman of Norton Rose.

A full media pack for reporters is located at www.nortonrose.com/mediapack.

For further information please contact:

Norton Rose

Europe, Middle East and Asia
Sarah Webster, Head of PR
Tel: +44 (0)20 7444 5942; Mob: +44 (0)7725 350 425
sarah.webster@nortonrose.com

Jane Lougher, PR Manager
Tel: +44 (0)20 7444 2063; Mob: +44 (0)7595 886 200
jane.lougher@nortonrose.com

Africa
Candice Collins, Communications Specialist
Tel: +27 (0)11 685 8630
candice.collins@nortonrose.com

Asia
Sean Twomey, Head of Business Development
Tel: +65 6309 5451; Mob: +65 9026 3453
sean.twomey@nortonrose.com

Lorraine Lee, Regional Marketing and Communications Manager
Tel: +852 3405 2324
lorraine.lee@nortonrose.com

Australia
Sam Magnusson, Senior Corporate Communications Manager
Tel: +61 (0)2 9330 8138; Mob: +61 (0)423 116 696
samantha.magnusson@nortonrose.com

Teneille Rennick, Corporate Communications Manager
Tel: +61 2 9330 8926; Mob: +61 418 982 442
teneille.rennick@nortonrose.com

Belgium
Olga Tasiopoulou, Legal Secretary
Tel: +32 (0)2 237 61 32
olga.tasiopoulou@nortonrose.com

Manja Rose, Office Manager
Tel: +32 2 237 61 25; Mob: +32 (0)494 632766
manja.rose@nortonrose.com

Canada
Peter Zvanitajs, Senior Public Relations Adviser (English press)
Tel: +1 416 216 1871; Mob: +1 416 553 5789
peter.zvanitajs@nortonrose.com

Rebecca Geddes, Senior Public Relations Advisor (English press)
Tel: +403-267-8177; Mob: +403-650-9240
rebecca.geddes@nortonrose.com

Joanne Lajeunesse, Director, Marketing (Québec region/French press)
Tel: +1 514 847 4723; Mob: +1 514 919 2880
joanne.lajeunesse@nortonrose.com

Colombia
Johanna Pardo, Senior Public Relations Adviser
Tel: +514 847 4921; Mob: +514 576 2399
johanna.pardo@nortonrose.com

Czech Republic
Radka Kadlecova, Marketing Assistant
Tel +420 257 199 024; Mob: +420 724 344 945
radka.kadlecova@nortonrose.com

France
Carole Guettier, Business Development Project Manager
Tel: + 33 (0)1 56 59 52 75
carole.guettier@nortonrose.com  

Germany
Christine Wolf, PR and communications Manager
Tel +49 (0)89 212148 339 | Mob +49 (0)160 96812733
christine.wolf@nortonrose.com

Kathrin Zander, PR and communications executive
Tel: +49 (0)89 212148 360; Mob: +49 (0)172 7163 593
kathrin.zander@nortonrose.com

Greece
Christina Nomikou, Business Development Manager
Tel +30 210 94 75 430
christina.nomikou@nortonrose.com

Holland
Silvia ten Houten, Business Development Manager
Tel +31 (0)20 462 9300
silvia.tenhouten@nortonrose.com

Italy
Felicia Kohn, Senior Business Development Manager
Tel: +39 02 8635 941
felicia.kohn@nortonrose.com

Kazakhstan
Sarah Webster, Head of PR
Tel: +44 (0)20 7444 5942   Mob +44 [0]7725 350 425   
sarah.webster@nortonrose.com

Middle East and Africa
Amelia Snare, Business Development Manager
Tel: +971 (0)4 369 6300
amelia.snare@nortonrose.com

Morocco
Carole Guettier, Business Development Project Manager
Tel: + 33 (0)1 56 59 52 75
carole.guettier@nortonrose.com

Poland
Dorota Zamorska, Office Manager
Tel +48 22 581 4912
dorota.zamorska@nortonrose.com

Sarah Webster, Head of PR
Tel: +44 (0)20 7444 5942; Mob: +44 (0)7725 350 425
sarah.webster@nortonrose.com

Russia
Elena Senkova, Business Development Manager
Tel: +7 499 924 5101
elena.senkova@nortonrose.com

Venezuela
Johanna Pardo, Senior Public Relations Adviser
Tel: +514 847 4921; Mob: +514 576 2399
johanna.pardo@nortonrose.com

Fulbright & Jaworski

Dan McKenna, Director of Media Relations
Tel: +1 713 651 3576
dmckenna@fulbright.com