Better late than never: Proposed Anti-Kickback Statute and Stark Law reforms

Event Details


Webinar

November 21, 2019 | 13:00 - 14:00 ET | Accreditation 1.0 CLE

In October, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) and the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) Office of Inspector General (OIG) published two proposals in the Federal Register to implement significant changes to Stark Law and Anti-Kickback Statute (AKS) regulations.

With governmental reimbursement evolving toward more value based care payment models, the new Stark Law exceptions and AKS safe harbors are designed to protect value based compensation arrangements.

In addition, after almost a decade of experience reviewing Stark self-disclosure protocol submissions, CMS capitalized on its experience with technical violations to propose useful revisions to definitions, new exceptions and clarifications to Stark regulations.

The webinar will feature the following topics:

  • Review the proposed regulatory revisions and the applicability to various value based compensation arrangements.
  • Highlight useful guidance as well as certain areas where the guidance could be further improved.
  • Discuss practical implications for providers in designing arrangements to meet a new exception or safe harbor, including a discussion of the areas under the proposed rules that will be the most challenging for providers to operationalize and strategies for addressing them.

Schedule

10:00 am – 11:00 am Pacific

11:00 am – 12:00 pm Mountain

12:00 pm – 1:00 pm Central

1:00 pm – 2:00 pm Eastern


Speakers