Justin Rodriguez

Of Counsel
Norton Rose Fulbright US LLP

San Antonio
United States
T:+1 210 270 7163
San Antonio
United States
T:+1 210 270 7163
Justin Rodriguez

Justin Rodriguez


Related services and key industries


Justin Rodriguez is Of Counsel in the public finance practice group residing in the firm's San Antonio office.

Justin began his career in public service as a juvenile prosecutor for the Bexar County District Attorney's Office where he worked diligently to assist young offenders in their rehabilitative efforts. Elected to the Board of Trustees of the San Antonio Independent School District in 2004, Justin served in that role for three years before being elected to the San Antonio City Council and representing District 7 for two terms from 2007-2011. Justin's focus while on Council was aimed on  enhancing educational outcomes and creating economic opportunities for hardworking families. 

In 2012, Justin was elected to the Texas House of Representatives. Serving three full terms as State Representative for House District 125, Justin advocated for increased access to, and affordability of, higher education, voting rights, andaffordable healthcare for all Texans. A strong advocate for San Antonio and Bexar County on the House Appropriations Committee, he sought and secured several leadership roles during his tenure including Deputy Whip for the House Democratic Caucus and was part of the leadership team of the Mexican American Legislative Caucus.

On January 4, 2019, Justin was sworn in as Bexar County Commissioner for Precinct 2. In addition to his public service, Justin has spent over ten years as a public finance banker holding Series 7, 50, 52, 53 and 63 industry licenses.

Professional experience

Expand all Collapse all

JD, University of Wisconsin Law School, 2000
BBA, University of the Incarnate Word, 1997

  • Texas State Bar
  • Wisconsin State Bar
  • 40 Under 40, Rising Star, San Antonio Business Journal, 2005
  • 20 Latino Democrats to Watch Over the Next 20 Years, Houston Chronicle, 2012
  • Bexar County Commissioner (2019-Present)
  • Texas State Representative (2013-2019)
  • San Antonio City Councilman (2007-2011)
  • San Antonio ISD Board Member (2004-2007)


Texas public finance legislative review

Publication | September 2019