In Canada, governmental and legislative jurisdiction is divided between the federal and provincial governments. The jurisdiction of the ten provinces, including Quebec, includes the power to legislate over property and civil rights, healthcare, education and intra-provincial trade. The federal jurisdiction includes interprovincial trade, currency, banks, criminal law, intellectual property, bankruptcy and insolvency and national defence.
Unlike other provinces, Quebec’s legal system is based on civil rather than common law. Quebec has also adopted the Civil Code of Quebec (Civil Code), which governs property and civil rights. Given the wide variety of topics governed by the Civil Code, we have not dealt with it as a specific chapter heading, but rather have made reference to it whenever its provisions affect the subject matter addressed within the chapter headings that follow.


Managing Partner, Montréal Office, Canadian Head of Restructuring
Managing Partner, Québec Office

Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest legal news, information and events . . .