Navigating financial crime risks in the time of cryptoassets

Event Details

Webinar

Global | September 28, 2021

First session: 09:00 – 10:00 BST / 16:00 – 17:00 HKT
Second session: 16:00 – 17:00 BST / 11:00 – 12:00 EDT

 

In recent years, cryptoassets have been gaining legitimacy, with more mainstream consumer and institutional investors embracing crypto-related investment opportunities. However, as the value and use of cryptoassets have grown, concerns about the associated risks have also increased in urgency. Regulators across the globe, together with major inter-governmental bodies, are taking significant steps towards understanding the cryptoasset market and, in particular, the associated money laundering risks.

In this webinar, members of our global financial services team will compare notes on their jurisdiction’s approach to anti-money laundering in the crypto space. The speakers will provide their insights on a number of areas that will help both traditional financial institutions that are interested in crypto business and FinTechs that focus on crypto-services, either as their whole business or a business line. These include:

  • What triggers your AML regime for crypto-asset businesses?
  • For countries with a registration requirement, what does it involve?
  • How are banks in your country approaching clients in the crypto sector?
  • What is your regulator’s approach to suspicion reporting and what are the consequences of getting it wrong?