US legal update for European businesses: Blockchain litigation

Event Details


Webinar

October 3, 2019 | 15:30 - 16:30 CEST

Welcome back to our US webinar series for European businesses.

Our monthly US webinar briefings provide a spotlight on recent US legal developments and their implications for European businesses. Our webinars continue to take place on the first Thursday of each month, with our next in the series taking place on October 3rd, on the topic of Blockchain litigation.

Blockchain technology has enabled the creation of new forms of digital assets, and with them new kinds of commercial relationships among the parties involved. These new areas will present novel legal questions for parties and courts and for regulators who must apply existing regulatory structures in these areas and perhaps develop new ones. There will be many unresolved issues about how to apply existing legal rules of liability in this new space and what kinds of damages and other relief are available and appropriate, and from whom. In addition, the cross-border nature of many Blockchain applications means that many of these litigation and regulatory issues can arise in the US, with non-US companies potentially facing complicated questions of jurisdiction and extraterritoriality in the US courts.

While this area is maturing and developing, it will present a wide variety of litigation, liability and regulatory risks. This webinar will help parties involved with Blockchain-related ventures understand and appreciate the US litigation and regulatory risks they could potentially face as they proceed with these ventures. Among the issues this webinar will cover are:

  • Private civil disputes involving fraud
  • Contract and commercial claims from transactions gone awry
  • Negligence claims
  • Antitrust claims
  • Claims in other substantive areas of law, particularly as Blockchain technology is used in so-called "smart contract" applications
  • Regulatory enforcement questions in the securities, commodities and tax areas

If you would like more information on this webinar, please contact David Malkin.


Schedule

15:30 – 16:30 (CEST)

9:30 am – 10:30 am (ET)

8:30 am – 9:30 am (CT)

6:30 am – 7:30 am (PT)


Speakers