Use of cookies by
Norton Rose Fulbright
We use cookies to deliver our online services. Details and instructions on how to disable those cookies are set out at By continuing to use this website you agree to our use of our cookies unless you have disabled them.

Jennifer Caplan Barks


Jennifer Caplan Barks


T:+1 713 651 5372

Jennifer Caplan Barks joined the Houston office as an associate in September 2013 as part of the Environmental Group.  As an associate, she regularly assists clients in civil and criminal environmental litigation, regulatory enforcement, and compliance matters.  Jennifer's practice also includes performance of environmental due diligence for transactional matters.

During law school, Jenn gained significant experience through internships for the Honorable Judge David Hittner of the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Texas and the Honorable Justice Terry Jennings of the First Court of Appeals of Texas.

[+Open all]
  • Education

    2013 - J.D., summa cum laude, University of Houston Law Center
    2010 - B.A., Political Science and Spanish, Washington University in St. Louis

  • Admissions
    • Texas State Bar License
  • Publications
    • Co-author, "Hydraulic Fracturing: Spill Response and Enforcement," Water Acquisition and Management for Oil & Gas Development: Legal and Regulatory Requirements, Paper 10A (Rocky Mt. Min. L. Fdn. 2016). 
    • Co-author, "New rules address earthquake and fracking concerns in Texas," International Law Office, November 17, 2014 
    • Co-author, "Texas proposes rule to evaluate seismic activity related to fracking," The Hydraulic Fracking Blog, August 12, 2014
    • Co-author, "US proposes stringent standards for rail transport of flammable liquids," Norton Rose Fulbright - Legal update, July 31, 2014
    • Co-author, "CERCLA's federal discovery rule does not preempt state statutes of repose," Norton Rose Fulbright - Legal update, June 2014 
  • Memberships and activities
    • Houston Young Lawyers Association
    • Houston Bar Association, member of Special Olympics Committee