Maximizing brand value hero image

Maximizing brand value

Event Details

Seminar

Canada | May 19, 2021

Your brand has tremendous value. You have invested time, energy and resources to ensure it’s recognizable and drives business. To grow market share and stay relevant in these challenging times requires you to anticipate and respond to a myriad of external forces. You must be agile, innovative and protected. Watch our half-day virtual seminar on maximizing your brand value in this evolving market. 

Topics 

  • Building value in trademarks 
  • Strategic portfolio management and enforcement
  • Brand transformation
  • Brand expansion into Quebec and the US
  • A conversation with an iconic Canadian brand: Canadian Tire

This is a half-day seminar with content available in English and French.

Agenda 

Time Topic and Presenters
10:00 a.m. PT
11:00 a.m. MT
1:00 p.m. ET

45 minutes

Panel | Building value in trademarks  

  • Trademark protection, financing and commercialization

 Presenters

This program contains 45 minutes of Substantive content.

10:45 a.m. PT
11:45 a.m. MT
1:45 p.m. ET
30 minutes 

 

Brand transformation 

  • Re-branding trends and legal implications
  • Re-branding best practices

Presenters

This program contains 30 minutes of Substantive content.

11:15 a.m. PT
12:15 p.m. MT
2:15 p.m. ET
15 minutes

BREAK
11:30 a.m. PT
12:30 p.m. MT
2:30 p.m. ET
45 minutes 

Panel | Strategic portfolio management and enforcement 

  • Traditional and non-traditional marks
  • In-house strategy perspective
  • Portfolio management innovation

Presenters

  • Moderator: Mark Davis, Partner, Lawyer, Trademark Agent, Toronto
  • Mat Brechtel, Partner, Vancouver 
  • Al Hounsell, Senior Innovation Lawyer, Toronto
  • Jeffrey Kang, IP Strategist, Lawyer, Patent Agent, Trademark Agent, Toronto
  • Jordana Sanft, Partner, Lawyer, Patent Agent, Trademark Agent, Toronto

This program contains 45 minutes of Substantive content.

12:15 p.m. PT
1:15 p.m. MT
3:15 p.m. ET
30 minutes
 

Brand expansion

  • Doing business in Quebec
  • Doing business in the US

 Presenters

This program contains 30 minutes of Substantive content.

12:45 p.m. PT
1:45 p.m. MT
3:45 p.m. ET
15 minutes
BREAK
1:00 p.m. PT
2:00 p.m. MT
4:00 p.m. ET
30 minutes

A conversation with an iconic Canadian brand: Canadian Tire

Presenters

  • Elizabeth Williams, Partner, Lawyer, Trademark Agent
  • Anthony Wolf, Vice President of Product Development and Innovation, Canadian Tire 

Anthony joined Canadian Tire’s Innovation Management Group in 2007 with the objective of building new competency in the organization around product development and innovation for Canadian Tire’s Private Label Brand portfolio. He has spent the last few years building out the Owned Brands strategy and org structure to support Canadian Tire’s position as the retailer that understands Canadian’s best.

 

Continuing Professional Development (CPD) credits

These sessions qualify for CPD credits in some regions. Please note, in Quebec you must attend at least 45 minutes of training to be eligible for CPD credit. Certificates of attendance are available upon request. For more information, select your session for eligibility.

 

Contact us

Contacts

IP Strategist, Lawyer, Patent & Trademark Agent
Partner, Lawyer, Trademark Agent, Patent Agent