Anti-bribery and corruption (ABC) compliance: Global webinar series

ABC training and compliance resourcing: What’s expected?

Event Details

Global | October 06, 2021

Asia Pacific / Europe: Time: 16:30 AEDT, 7:30 BST, 08:30 CEST
North America / Europe: Time: 11:30 EDT, 08:30 PDT, 16:30 BST, 17:30 CEST


Expectations in relation to ABC compliance programs have moved on significantly in the last decade. For a number of years, enforcement agencies in the US, UK and elsewhere have engaged in a concerted effort to develop their internal compliance program expertise – the result being that companies can expect that their programs will be subject to greater scrutiny from the outset of an investigation.

To mark the 10th anniversary of the UK Bribery Act coming into force, we are running a series of global webinars on putting into practice authorities’ expectations in relation to each of the components of an ABC program.

Picking up the conversation and building on our second session in which our panellists discussed the key hallmarks of effective ABC policies and procedures, this third webinar will explore effective communications and training of ABC Compliance programmes.

"Prosecutors, in short, should examine whether the compliance program is being disseminated to, and understood by, employees in practice in order to decide whether the compliance program is “truly effective." - (DOJ Evaluation of Corporate Compliance Programs Guidance, June 2020)

Employees’ understanding of ABC issues makes or breaks a compliance programme. Authorities across the world are increasingly asking challenging questions about how:

  1. “Zero tolerance” commitments to bribery are communicated to employees by a company’s words and actions.
  2. Risk-based training is deployed to educate employees on the key risks they will face, whilst assessing their understanding and identifying emerging ABC issues.
  3. ABC compliance is resourced, and what reporting lines Compliance has to the Board.

In the next webinar in our ABC Compliance series, our panellists will discuss different jurisdictions’ perspectives on these issues.

We would also like to invite you to participate in our ABC compliance survey focusing on how companies are developing their ABC compliance programmes against regulatory expectations.

 

Moderator

 Abigail McGregor

Partner, Norton Rose Fulbright Australia



Speakers