Historical overview of COP 2009-2017

Publication October 2018

The United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (the Convention or UNFCCC) is an international treaty which acknowledges the existence of anthropogenic climate change and provides the framework for climate change negotiations. The Convention was adopted in 1992 during the ‘Earth Summit’ in Rio de Janeiro, with the treaty entering into force in 1994 and 196 countries ratifying it. The Conference of the Parties (COP) is the supreme decision-making body of the UNFCCC and is made up of representatives from all parties.

The COP has met each year since 1995 to review the implementation of the Convention. Each COP elaborates and builds on the decisions and resolutions of previous COPs, with the Kyoto Protocol adopted at COP3 in 1997 being one of the better known agreements. At COP21 in Paris The “Paris Agreement" was reached and has been widely proclaimed as a historic deal and one that will inevitably lead to decarbonisation. The implementation of the Paris Agreement will be at the centre of negotiations for COP22 in Marrakech.

The numbers and locations of recent climate negotiations, along with our briefings on the conferences, follows below.

  • COP15 – 2009: Copenhagen
  • COP16 – 2010: Cancun
  • COP17 – 2011: Durban
  • COP18 – 2012: Doha
  • COP19 – 2013: Warsaw
  • COP20 – 2014: Lima
  • COP21 - 2015: Paris
  • COP22 – 2016: Marrakesh

Norton Rose Fulbright’s Briefings on COP: 2009 – 2016



Recent publications

Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest legal news, information and events...